28 Student-Athletes Earn Accolades as Members of 2017 CACC Women's Track & Field All-Academic Team

28 Student-Athletes Earn Accolades as Members of 2017 CACC Women's Track & Field All-Academic Team


NEW HAVEN, Conn. (June 2, 2017) -- Twenty-eight (28) student-athletes on Friday were named to the 2017 Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference (CACC) Women's Track & Field All-Academic Team, as announced by Commissioner Dan Mara.

Philadelphia University led the way with nine honorees on the list, as both Rachel Meier and Maria Santangelo led the Rams with a pair of 3.87 cumulative grade point averages. Meier is a sophomore majoring in landscape architecture, while Santangelo is also a sophomore, who is majoring in psychology.

Ten (10) of the 28 honorees posted GPAs of 3.80 or higher, including Holy Family University's Sienna Smith, who posted a league-best mark of 4.00. The senior biology major was named the CACC Top XV Award winner at the 2017 women's track & field championship last month in Lakewood, N.J.

Fourteen (14) of the 28 student-athletes were named to the squad for at least the second time in their respective careers.

To be eligible for the All-Academic Team, a student-athletes must meet the following criteria: a) minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5 at the end of the immediate preceding term; b) minimum of two semesters enrolled as full-time student at member institution; c) student-athlete must be second year student-athlete at member institution; and d) student-athlete must have been athletically eligible the season preceding the award and used a season of eligibility.

The Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference is an NCAA Division II Conference composed of 14 institutions in Connecticut, Delaware, New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania. The member institutions are Bloomfield College, Caldwell University, Chestnut Hill College, Concordia (N.Y.) College, Dominican (N.Y.) College, Felician University, Georgian Court University, Goldey-Beacom College, Holy Family University, Nyack College, Philadelphia University, Post University of Waterbury, University of the Sciences, and Wilmington University.