Fifty Student-Athletes Named to 2018 CACC Softball All-Academic Team

Fifty Student-Athletes Named to 2018 CACC Softball All-Academic Team


NEW HAVEN, Conn. (June 4, 2018) -- Fifty (50) student-athletes on Monday were named to the 2018 Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference (CACC) Softball All-Academic Team, as announced by Commissioner Dan Mara. The total number of honorees represent all 14 schools that play the sport at the varsity level in the conference.

Chestnut Hill College led the way with eight honorees, including Jessica Heaton, who boasted a team-best cumulative grade point average of 3.93. Georgian Court University and University of the Sciences were next with five honorees apiece. GCU's top GPA was Molly Jackson, who owns a 3.91 mark, while USciences was led by Brittany Rickard and her perfect 4.00 GPA. 

Rickard was joined by Goldey-Beacom College's Dianna Gatto as the two student-athletes with 4.0 GPAs on the all-academic team. Overall, 11 student-athletes sported GPAs of 3.90 or higher on the 2018 all-academic squad.

Seventeen (17) of the 50 honorees were named to the CACC Softball All-Academic Team for at least the second time in their respective careers, while five of those (Sarah Ross, Concordia College; Lauren Conway, Goldey-Beacom; Kylie Doyle, Goldey-Beacom; Alyssa Cudeyro, Holy Family University; Katy Sullivan, Jefferson) were named to the team for the third time each.

Caldwell University, which claimed the 2018 CACC Softball Championship, had four student-athletes make the academic team, including pitcher and First-Team All-CACC Sara Bearden, who had a team-best GPA of 3.92.

To be eligible for the All-Academic Team, a student-athletes must meet the following criteria: a) minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5 at the end of the immediate preceding term; b) minimum of two semesters enrolled as full-time student at member institution; c) student-athlete must be second year student-athlete at member institution; and d) student-athlete must have been athletically eligible the season preceding the award and used a season of eligibility.

The Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference is an NCAA Division II Conference composed of 14 institutions in Connecticut, Delaware, New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania. The member institutions are Bloomfield College, Caldwell University, Chestnut Hill College, Concordia (N.Y.) College, Dominican (N.Y.) College, Felician University, Georgian Court University, Goldey-Beacom College, Holy Family University, Jefferson (Philadelphia University + Thomas Jefferson University), Nyack College, Post University of Waterbury, University of the Sciences, and Wilmington University.