5 CACC Men's Soccer Standouts Named to CoSIDA Academic All-Distrcit I First Team

5 CACC Men's Soccer Standouts Named to CoSIDA Academic All-Distrcit I First Team

NEW HAVEN, Conn. (November 10, 2017) -- Five Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference (CACC) men's soccer standouts on Thursday were named to the 2017 CoSIDA Academic All-District I First Team. The list included Suhail Bismilla (Goldey-Beacom College), Daniel Loyo (Wilmington University), Cameron Wilkinson (Goldey-Beacom), Chahin Aghrim (Goldey-Beacom) and Tom Yortson (Caldwell University). All five student-athletes will now move on for consideration for the CoSIDA Academic All-America Team, which will be announced later this month by the national organization of sports information directors.

The CACC's five honorees were the most of any of the three East Region conferences that comprise the District I squad. Bismilla, Wilkinson and Aghrim helped guide the Lightning to the CACC Championship and the NCAA Division II East Region Tournament. Bismilla and Aghrim were both named to the All-CACC First Team last week, while the former also locked up the 2017 CACC Goalkeeper-of-the-Year award.

Student-athletes named to the CoSIDA Academic All-District Team must be a starter or significant reserve, a sophomore academically and athletically, and own a cumulative grade point average of 3.30 or higher.

Bismilla owns a mark of 3.97 in his major of business, as it marks his second academic honor in the last two weeks. At last Thursday's CACC Soccer Championship Banquet, Bismilla won the CACC Top XVI Award for having the highest cumulative GPA of all student-athletes at the finals site. Loyo boasts a 3.96 in his major of marketing, while Wilkinson has a 3.83 in his studies of economics. Aghrim has a 3.80 in information technology/international business, and Yortson sports a 3.65 GPA in his major of history.

The Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference is an NCAA Division II Conference composed of 14 institutions in Connecticut, Delaware, New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania. The member institutions are Bloomfield College, Caldwell University, Chestnut Hill College, Concordia (N.Y.) College, Dominican (N.Y.) College, Felician University, Georgian Court University, Goldey-Beacom College, Holy Family University, Jefferson (Philadelphia University + Thomas Jefferson University), Nyack College, Post University of Waterbury, University of the Sciences, and Wilmington University.