October 29, 2007

NEW HAVEN, CT - Dominican College senior midfielder Jhonny Arteaga has garnered Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference (CACC) Men's Soccer Player of the Year accolades, as the All-Conference team was released today. Fellow Charger Joe Wright was named the Rookie of the Year, while Dominican Head Coach John Campbell was honored as the Coach of the Year. Nyack College was given the annual Team Sportsmanship Award. The conference's 10 head coaches conducted the voting for the awards.

Arteaga, who hails from Stamford, CT, led the CACC in points (38), goals (16) and game-winning goals (six) this season and also ranked second with six assists. He scored 12 more points and four more goals than anyone else in the conference in leading Dominican to its fourth consecutive CACC regular-season championship.

Wright, a sophomore forward from Stratford-Upon-Avon, England, ranked seventh in the CACC in points (19), tied for fifth in assists (5) and stood eighth in goals (7) this season. Furthermore, he ranked first in the CACC in shots per-game with 4.07 (61 total in 15 games). He was also named to the All-Conference first team.

Campbell led Dominican to the CACC regular-season championship with an 8-0-1 conference record to go with an 11-2-5 overall mark. It was their fourth straight regular-season title and the Chargers will be looking for their fourth consecutive CACC Tournament Championship this week. Dominican entered the week ranked fifth in the New England region.

The complete All-CACC Men's Soccer team is listed on the following page. Four Dominican student-athletes were named to the first team and three more Chargers earned second team honors. Four student-athletes from Wilmington University earned All-CACC honors. The Wildcats are the No. 2 seed for this week's CACC Tournament. Holy Family University, Caldwell College and Nyack College each had three players named to the team.

2007 All-CACC Men's Soccer Teams


GK Robert Kelly Dominican Sr. Kearny, NJ

D Andrew Fraser Caldwell Sr. Kingston, Jamaica

D Joseph Ruesgen Dominican Sr. Campbeltown, Scotland

D Seth Galloway Nyack Jr. Penang, Malaysia

M Jhonny Arteaga Dominican Sr. Stamford, CT

M Tim Conway Nyack Sr. Billerica, MA

M Steve Kientzy Holy Family Sr. Philadelphia, PA

F Sargbah Tarpeh Wilmington So. Philadelphia, PA

F Chad Bennett Caldwell Jr. Kingston, Jamaica

F Joe Wright Dominican So. Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

F Eurica Trowers Post So. Bronx, NY


GK Dan Mangat Wilmington Sr. Newark, DE

D Lukas Fraczek Felician Jr. Szczytno, Poland

D James Hamilton Dominican So. Paisley, Scotland

D Selekie Kamara Wilmington So. Philadelphia, PA

M Ryan Clancy Dominican Sr. Pine Bush, NY

M Diego Miranda Dominican Sr. Stamford, CT

M Agustin Aguilera Wilmington Jr. El Paso, TX

M Jan Marco Jiras Caldwell Sr. Lima, Peru

F Jim Latronica Holy Family Sr. Levittown, PA

F Baba Fatoba Nyack So. Toronto, Canada

F Sean Hordijenko Holy Family So. Philadelphia, PA

Honorable Mention: John Plaugic, Jr., GK, Caldwell; Ed Szambelak, Sr., M, Holy Family; Kevin Penko, Sr., D, Holy Family; Dan Kelly, So., D, Dominican

Player of the Year: Jhonny Arteaga, Sr., M, Dominican

Rookie of the Year: Joe Wright, So., F, Dominican

Coach of the Year: John Campbell, Dominican

Team Sportsmanship Award: Nyack College