Eight Student-Athletes Named to 2017 CACC Men's Golf All-Academic Team

Eight Student-Athletes Named to 2017 CACC Men's Golf All-Academic Team


NEW HAVEN, Conn. (May 30, 2017) -- Eight student-athletes on Tuesday were named to the 2017 Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference (CACC) Men's Golf All-Academic Team, as announced by Commissioner Dan Mara.

The eight honorees came from four schools, as each institution on the list boasted a pair of All-Academic honorees. The highest cumulative grade point average on the list was a 3.98, which was sported by Post University's John Gibbons. The next best GPA was a 3.86, as Philadelphia University's Nick Nguyen owned that mark, which also enabled him to win the Top XV Award at the 2017 CACC Men's Golf Championship last month. The Top XV Award is given to the student-athlete who owns the highest GPA at the finals site of each of the 15 championship events conducted by the CACC.

The remaining six honorees on the 2017 CACC Men's Golf All-Academic Team included Chris Bekefi (3.53, Felician University), Andrew Capone (3.76, Felician), Peter Mahal (3.60, PhilaU), Matthieu Sicard (3.50, Post), Freddy Braun (3.55, Wilmington University) and Miguel Siercke (3.51, WilmU). Siercke's academic honor caps an amazing 2016-17 season for the Wildcat, as prior to this year's conference championship he was named the 2017 CACC Player of the Year and landed on the All-CACC First Team.

To be eligible for the All-Academic Team, a student-athletes must meet the following criteria: a) minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5 at the end of the immediate preceding term; b) minimum of two semesters enrolled as full-time student at member institution; c) student-athlete must be second year student-athlete at member institution; and d) student-athlete must have been athletically eligible the season preceding the award and used a season of eligibility.

The Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference is an NCAA Division II Conference composed of 14 institutions in Connecticut, Delaware, New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania. The member institutions are Bloomfield College, Caldwell University, Chestnut Hill College, Concordia (N.Y.) College, Dominican (N.Y.) College, Felician University, Georgian Court University, Goldey-Beacom College, Holy Family University, Nyack College, Philadelphia University, Post University of Waterbury, University of the Sciences, and Wilmington University.