Post University & Municipal Stadium to Host CACC Baseball Championship for Second-Straight Year

Post University & Municipal Stadium to Host CACC Baseball Championship for Second-Straight Year

NEW HAVEN, Conn. (July 17, 2017) -- Post University and Municipal Stadium in Waterbury, Conn., will once again serve as host for the Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference (CACC) Baseball Championship, as announced on Monday by Commissioner Dan Mara.

The 2018 tournament will begin with the single-elimination first round on Saturday, May 6, at the sites of the highest seeds. The first-round match-ups are as follows:

South #4 Seed at North #1 Seed
South #3 Seed at North #2 Seed
North #4 Seed at South #1 Seed
North #3 Seed at South #2 Seed

The four first-round winners will advance to the double-elimination portion of the tournament from May 10-12 at Municipal Stadium in Waterbury. Day one on Thursday the 10th will feature three games, while day two on Friday the 11th will showcase two contests. The two finalists will advance to Championship Saturday on the 12th, with the winner earning the league's automatic bid to the NCAA Division II East Region Tournament. Saturday will feature one game, but an "If Necessary" game is possible if the one-loss team wins the day's first game.

Dominican College enters the 2018 season as the defending conference champion, as the Chargers won the "If Necessary" game in the 2017 tournament to advance to the NCAA Tournament. Dominican rode fantastic pitching throughout the tournament, along with timely hitting, to capture CACC Championship hardware.

Post University will use the opportunity to host the tournament as motivation to make it to the double-elimination portion of the championship. Under the guidance of Ray Ricker, Post finished third in the league standings in 2017 and has traditionally been one of the more competitive programs in the league over the last several seasons.

Each conference member is eligible to put in a bid to host each of the 16 championship events contested in the CACC. Bids for the following year are collected and reviewed by the CACC Championships Committee and voted on by the league's Directors Council at the conference's year-end meeting each June.

The Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference is an NCAA Division II Conference composed of 14 institutions in Connecticut, Delaware, New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania. The member institutions are Bloomfield College, Caldwell University, Chestnut Hill College, Concordia (N.Y.) College, Dominican (N.Y.) College, Felician University, Georgian Court University, Goldey-Beacom College, Holy Family University, Nyack College, Philadelphia University, Post University of Waterbury, University of the Sciences, and Wilmington University.