Nyack Reels in Top Spot in Initial Standings of the 2018-19 CACC Women's Sportsmanship Award

Nyack Reels in Top Spot in Initial Standings of the 2018-19 CACC Women's Sportsmanship Award

NEW HAVEN, Conn. (November 28, 2018) -- Nyack College sits in first place in the initial standings for the 2018-19 Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference (CACC) Women's Sportsmanship Award following the fall season, as announced on Wednesday by Commissioner Dan Mara. The Warriors top the list of 14 CACC schools with an average score of 18.67.

Nyack was identified as the first-place school in the initial standings by the total number of sportsmanship votes the institution received over the course of the fall season in women's sports, divided by the total number of female sports sponsored up to this point. Four women's championships recognized Team Sportsmanship Awards during the fall including women's tennis, women's cross country, women's soccer and women's volleyball. 

The Warriors jumped to the top of the initial standings thanks in large part to the volleyball team claiming the Team Sportsmanship Award in its respective voting. 

Each sport's team sportsmanship award is voted on by the league's head coaches in their respective sport. Head coaches speak with their student-athletes prior to voting to gain feedback on which opposing teams demonstrated outstanding class and character throughout the season.

Rounding out the top three of the standings included University of the Sciences (2nd, 14.33) and Caldwell University (3rd, 13.00). 

2018-19 CACC WOMEN'S SPORTSMANSHIP AWARD (Following Fall Season)
1. Nyack College (18.67)
2. University of the Sciences (14.33)
3. Caldwell University (13.00)
4. Goldey-Beacom College (10.50)
5. Georgian Court University (9.67)
6. Chestnut Hill College (9.25)
7. Felician University (9.00)
8. Post University (8.50)
9. Concordia College (8.25)
10. Holy Family University (8.00)
11. Bloomfield College (6.00)
12. Wilmington University (5.75)
13. Jefferson (4.00)
14. Dominican College (2.67)

The Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference is an NCAA Division II Conference composed of 14 institutions in Connecticut, Delaware, New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania. The member institutions are Bloomfield College, Caldwell University, Chestnut Hill College, Concordia (N.Y.) College, Dominican (N.Y.) College, Felician University, Georgian Court University, Goldey-Beacom College, Holy Family University, Jefferson (Philadelphia University + Thomas Jefferson University), Nyack College, Post University of Waterbury, University of the Sciences, and Wilmington University.